Ormskirk Market Day

A Moment in Time - 2024


Under construction...

A collection of photographs taken in and around Ormskirk town centre during March and April 2024 to reflect the many changes, large and small which capture a moment in time.


 Longstanding Burscough Street business, Shepherd's DIY has closed its doors recently.  For many years the shop was owned by Frank Shepherd whose father, William, opened premises in the town centre in 1932.  He purchased the shop at 95 Burscough Street in 1946, the business was originally a wholsale enterprise and remained so until 1985 when Frank started the retail side.  In 1987 a new wallpaper showroom was opened above the existing shop in what was once a store room.  Customers could browse the many wallpaper books in comfort, which included the services of a coffee machine, whilst admiring the ancient oak beams above them.  At that time an Ormskirk Advertiser article showcasing the new show room listed the staff as Steve Gay, Billy Dann, John Preden and Ethel Hay.

Before the war the building was the home of Ormskirk Farm Produce and it served as a canteen during the war.




The door of 60 Moor Street has turned pink as a new business called "Retro" prepares to open.  Until recently this was the Family Eye Centre, an advertising banner can still be seen on the exterior of the building.

On the other side of Moor Street, Kut 'n' Dunn gent's barbers at number 59 is open as usual after the frontage was boarded over for some time following a car collision.



Empty premises on Moor Street

IMG-5008.jpg     IMG-5010.jpg

Ormskirk Church
Ormskirk Parish

Ormskirk railwaymen 1908
Ormskirk Station

Scarisbrick Hall 1815
Scarisbrick Hall

Skelmersdale Station

Moor Street market
Moor Street